Trust Governance

All Schools in the Seckford family are governed by a board of trustees. The Secretary of State for Education has the ability to nominate individuals or charities to become members. Trustees on the board are appointed by the members. The current members of the Trust are Mr P Norton, Mr P Rout (Chair of the Trust), Professor John Last and Ms Sandra Dinneen. The Trustees meet at least four times per year.

You can read more about our trustees by clicking here. This also includes details of the dates of appointment, term of office, attendance records and relevant business and pecuniary interests of members, trustees and local governors.

Sub-committees feed into the Trust Board, namely the Finance Audit and Resources Committee (FAR), and the School Improvement Boards (SIB). In addition there are Local Advisory Bodies for each of the Trust’s Schools (Beccles, Ixworth, Felix Primary, and Saxmundham). Click here for the terms of reference of these committees and Local Advisory Bodies.

The governance structure of Seckford Education Trust and its family of  schools is depicted in the chart below:

The Chairs of the Trust Board and its Committees are as follows:

  • Chair of Trust Board – Mr Peter Rout
  • Chair of Finance Audit and Resources Committee – Mr Ian Baker
  • Chair of Nominations Committee –

If you wish to contact the trustees please call 01953 609000, email or write to Chair of Trustees, Seckford Education Trust, Walsham Road, Ixworth, Bury St Edmunds IP31 2HS.

Local Advisory Bodies

Seckford Education Trust has Local Advisory Bodies for all its schools. Find out more about the Local Advisory Body at each of our schools by clicking on the links below:

Trust Leadership Team

The Trust Leadership Team (or TLT) is the first tier of operational leadership of the Trust, dealing specifically with strategic issues affecting the whole organisation. Members of the group are:

  • Mr J Taylor – Chief Executive Officer
  • Mr M Barrow Executive Headteacher
  • Mrs P Parker – Head of School
  • Mr N Ketteringham – Headteacher
  • Mr N Philpott – Head of School
  • Mrs L Thompson – Head of School

Local Senior Leadership Teams

Each school is supported by the TELT and led by the Head of School with a Senior Leadership Team (SLT) comprising of the the Assistant Head(s) of School and members of the Extended Leadership Team (ELT), including Subject Leaders in key subjects:

  • SET Beccles School
    • Mr N Ketteringham – Headteacher
    • Miss C Goode – Assistant Head of School
    • Miss J Reeve – SENCo
  • SET Ixworth School
    • Mrs P Parker – Head of School
    • Mr M Jackson – Assistant Head of School
    • Mrs K Hale – Assistant Head of School
    • Mr C Beales – Lead Practitioner Maths & Assistant Head of School
    • Mr H Cooper – Designated Safeguarding Lead
    • Mrs D Heath – SENCo
  • SET Saxmundham School
    • Mr N Philpott – Head of School
    • Miss A Mellor – Assistant Head of School/ Trust Lead Practitioner (English)
    • Mrs L Sheehan – Assistant Head of School/SENCo
  • SET Felix Primary
    • Mrs L Thompson – Head of School
    • Mrs J Hearn – Deputy Head of School
    • Ms H Brunning – Designated Safeguarding Lead
    • Mrs L Friston – Trust Administration Manager